Skip to content
October 7, 2015 / Amberly

Fully Represent Yourself

This class permeates all aspects of my life. Especially right now when I am feeling an aversion to vulnerability. It is helping to break through the walls up around my heart. Movement has a way of doing that, whether it is exercise or dance, moving the body connects the body.

Kpanlogo

Kpanlogo is a recreational dance from Ghana. There are specific drums that accompany this dance. In class we talk about how when you play one drum, this is not Kpanlogo. If you play two drums, this is not Kpanlogo. When all parts are played together this is Kpanlogo. I know this to be true in myself, if I am thinking, walking but not feeling, then I am not fully representing myself. I have to be me, which is difficult when I don’t want one part of myself to work.

We started on jumps… I LOVE JUMPS. I always have. My favorite part of high school was not the class work (go figure) but the hours I would spend in cheerleading practice, being tossed in the air or jumping as high as I could. There is something freeing about being in the air. It is liberating to let go of the constraints of the world and just jump.

I feel uncomfortable with the class, because sometimes I am not ready to be free. I tightly grasp on to the anxiety of my daily life afraid of what might not get done should I become less anxious. It is a driver and motivator in my life, especially at times of struggle.

Letting go is scary, so alas this is what I must do. I must jump with all my heart.

3 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Sarah / Feb 14 2016 11:11 AM

    I had no idea you were doing this. I love expressing through dance. Enjoy the possibilities!

  2. Mindy Anne / Oct 7 2015 6:28 PM

    Love you girl!

  3. Jant / Oct 7 2015 11:52 AM

    I am so excited about your adventure. You are such a great writer and now you are a great adventurer of life…. keep it up as the more you find out about yourself, the more fun you will have with life.

Leave a Reply

