Skip to content
June 26, 2013 / Amberly

Bucket List

The subject of a bucket list has come up many times in the past week. So I think it is time to make one. Well a written one.

I see bucket lists as an intention for your life. I think the way it works is we have a thought, something that we want to accomplish and we make decisions based on these thoughts, but also a little force helps to set things up in our path so that they are accomplished.

Bucket lists comprise of both materialistic, spiritual and physical things that we want to accomplish. I am not a fan of the timeline, I am a believer in the theory that we are responsible for the WHAT and WHY but not the HOW. This means that we need to know what we want, and why we want it, but how we get it isn’t up to us and we should be open to the many forms it might show up. It doesn’t mean that we can’t have goals that should be accomplished soon, as in a one year plan, we just shouldn’t become disappointed should that thing not happen within our expected timeline. What you want will come, at exactly the time it needs to come.

On that note, I think it is nice to have short term goals. Things that you would like to accomplish in a timely manner, and also things that are on the horizon, in the distance, but close enough that someday they will and can be a reality. I feel that New Years Resolutions are our short term bucket lists, these sadly for some of us are abandoned by February. For the short term goals a trick a friend just taught me was to write it down on a piece of sturdy paper and keep it in your wallet! It will catch our eye from time to time and get you back to concentrating on it.

Long term goals are those things that we say “someday we will do” These are the things we need time for. Sometimes other smaller goals need to be accomplished before they can be accomplished. Sometimes these are fleeting thoughts, we might not take them seriously until they become a possible reality.

Amazingly enough, I have never really written my goals down. I just make a statement, and then eventually it just happens. Most of the time I don’t realize I have accomplished something until many months after it has happened! It is pretty nice not to have to obsess over it, I just know that eventually I will have it accomplished!

I always say that I am checking things off my bucket list faster than I can add things onto it! I feel very pleased to be able to accomplish so many life goals! Here are a few that have been accomplished so far!

Watch the NYE fireworks in Sydney, AustraliaIntention made at 10 years young – Accomplished at 23 years young : When I was about 10 years old, I remember watching the NYE fireworks going off on the TV. I thought it was so cool, all the people who would commute to NYC, but what I thought was the best were the people who went to Sydney to be the first people to experience the New Year. I remember the TV host say that the hotels in Sydney are sold out a year in advanced for NYE, that it was so expensive to be there anytime that week, and the plane ticket alone was extravagant. In that moment I made a promise with myself that someday I will be in Sydney for the NYE fireworks. Guess what I did for NYE 2012… I was on the balcony of an amazing loft with a front row view of the fireworks, sipping champagne, with an amazing friend. CHECK

Sydney 2012 fireworks 2

Sydney 2012 fireworks

Teach English in Bangkok ThailandIntention made at 18 years young – Accomplished at 21 years young : When I gradutated high school I wasn’t sure what I wanted to do next, a co-worker mentioned how she taught English in Thailand many years back and that I should consider it. So I did, I researched it, checked out what you needed to do to teach, and ultimately decided that it wasn’t something I would do that year. Thailand completely slipped my mind for many years. Then one day walking through the Gloucester Mall my friend who was going to overseas to Thailand to teach English mentioned wanting a roommate or a friend to join her. I thought what a great idea and got in touch with the company she was working for and three months later was in Thailand teaching my first class. I had completely forgotten that I had wanted to do this until about 5 months after returning back to the US from teaching for many many months. How funny!  CHECK

Bangkok Thailand

IMG_1445

Become a cheerleaderIntention made at 12 years youngAccomplished at 17 years young : Oh ‘Bring It On’… I think you made millions of little girls want to be cheerleaders. I remember seeing that movie, seeing the stunts that these girls performed and was utterly stunned at what they could do. The moment I saw it I knew, I had to be thrown in the air. So I decided that one day I was going to be a competitive cheerleader. Grade 9 rolled around and auditions for high school cheerleading had begun, I am definitely not the cheer type, but a new friend in math class told me I should try out with her, and so I did. This lead me to 5 years of cheerleading both in high school and competitively. I didn’t realize I had accomplished this goal of being a cheerleader till many many years later! CHECK

Cheerleading Black Widow

Cheerleading Black Widow

So this is how it works for me, I state a desire, something I want and eventually I get it. I have a saying “I get everything I want”. It doesn’t necessarily come the way I think it will, or expect it to, but it comes and that is all that matter.

So here is the beginning of my list, some of them short term, some of them long term. Eventually I will organize them, add to it, cross things off. In the meantime it is a rough draft bucket list ;)

– Be on a TED Talks – Compete in a Half Ironman Triathlon – Live in France – Fall madly in love and have it returned (someone debated that this shouldn’t be on a bucket list… Whatevs) – Compete in a fitness competition – Make Smile Life is Beautiful T-Shirts and Stickers – Get my college degree – Finish first draft of book – Blog 3x week aka consistently – Be asked to speak about my view on life (on a stage in front of an audience) – Run a half marathon – learn conversational Italian – learn conversational German – Get a motorcycle license – Take a wilderness and city survival course – Combine my four loves into one website (Nutrition, writing, motivational speaking, smile life is beautiful) – Have my own talk show that empowers it’s viewers and helps up and coming thought leaders/inspirational people etc.

PS: Before I started writing this, I had put a quote in here by Death Cab For Cutie… and I just turned on Pandora and the two songs that just played in a row, are from Death Cab for Cutie and the Postal Service… it is on Blind Pilot radio… coincidence… I think not! Thank you to that little force :)

Death Cab For cutie

This post reminds me of the Death Cab For Cutie song New Year,
“So this is the new year
And I have no resolutions
For self assigned penance
For problems with easy solution”

Make a resolution list and start to accomplish it, it feels good :)

Read It, Live It, Share It.

Leave a Reply

