Skip to content
May 10, 2013 / Amberly

Killing Time

While I am sitting here waiting for the latest “The Office” episode to load and I thought I would write a quick post.

I am not sure exactly what to write about but I am sure I will be inspired by something.

Starting from the beginning.

This could be synonymous with starting over, starting from scratch, or however way that cookie crumbles.

I have started working out again, first time in two months, basically since leaving for Europe. Coming back to Colorado is always a stretch on the lungs, being a mile above sea level, walking up stairs makes you winded. My first workout Wednesday morning was a bust. I couldn’t believe how difficult it was for me to get through it. A set that used to be so simple for me to finish has now become too difficult and had to be reduced. This first workout really frazzled me, I started to think gosh what is wrong with my body, why am I so weak!? Fast forward to today, I already see an improvement. More than that, I see an improvement in my mind. I see myself really understanding that I am going to have to get over these first hurdles. That while I was clearing my mind I neglected my body, and am now in a position where I am starting from the beginning (kinda). There is no need to be upset, mad, and there certainly isn’t a reason to quit in frustration.

I am making small but extremely significant strides everyday.

This pertains to so much more than just working out. The first few days, weeks, months of anything can seem so difficult. We might beat ourselves up or blame others, but remember, you are doing a little more each day and eventually this will plateau. This uphill battle to loosing weight, eating better, conforming to a new job, being in a new location will seem like a mole hill looking back.

Keep going, make those small changes. Do one thing to work towards your goal. This one thing could even be not beating yourself up. Remind yourself, these first hurdles are just setting you up for the easier path ahead. Above all, don’t forget your goal. Don’t forget what this temporary uncomfortableness is leading up to.

You got this!

Read It, Live It, Share It.

Leave a Reply

