Skip to content
April 26, 2013 / Amberly

People Over Things

Something that I have always known but was just solidified is that your relationships with people will always be more important than chasing materialistic possessions.

I am not saying that having a house, or clothes or an iPhone aren’t important things to have around. They can be, joy comes in many forms.

This comes up because recently I found out my aunt in Canada was terminally ill. This hit me like a ton of bricks. Three weeks to live, at 63 years old. She and I are really close, but in the way that it is unspoken, the love is just there. No need to talk all the time, just know that the other one loves you more than could ever be expressed by words.

I obviously made all the necessary arrangements right away to get my butt up to Ottawa to be with her as soon as possible. This meant canceling appointments with clients, missing a friends book launch in Santa Rosa that I had a plane ticket for, getting up there was the only thing on my mind.

In Canada I stayed at her house, and over the years of living with her cat, she accumulated a lot of things. These things littered every step on the staircase, the hallway, the living room and countertops. She spent years of her life working, to be able to buy all this stuff and here it was, collecting dust. She will never see any of it again, stuck in a hospital bed, her couch wasn’t going to come visit her, her pots and pans wouldn’t be there at her side. Her 60′ plasma TV wouldn’t be there to hold her hand, or massage her legs. Her books would make it, but only in the hands of the ones she loved.

Standing there among her things I realized none of it mattered.

What matters is your niece, dropping her life, to be by your side.

She and I always talked about her coming to visit me in one of my many exotic locations. She talked about coming out to Arizona to sit out and enjoy the sunshine or possibly doing a trip to LA, walk along the beach and feel the sand between her toes. She never did come out.

These are the things that life is made of.

Making a trip to Paris just to see your best friend Pierre. When life isn’t making sense those familiar, loving faces just make it seem a lot better. People are what will help us out when we need it. People will be there to bail us out of a bad decision, or tell us when we are messing up. People will be at our side when we are weeks away from dying.

Even though she is gone, she taught me something that I will never forget. She taught me that the way you treat people, the way you love them is the most important thing in the world. So tell the ones you love that you love them, make time for people, don’t limit your time working for things that will take up more time to work for.

Lynn

Silly family dinners <3

Experiences and relationships are what you take on with you to the other side, so make them count and live so you want to remember them.

Read It, Live It, Share It.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Janet Grant / Apr 27 2013 9:27 AM

    That is so beautiful and Sooo true of what you said…..She has the next lifetime to do all those things with you!!! Thanks you for your writings, as it make me think of my own situations, and beliefs. Keep it up!!

    • Amberly / Apr 30 2013 10:46 PM

      I am so happy I can help you to consider your own beliefs. It is important to once in a while check on our thoughts and behaviours to see if they still serve us!
      I had a funny thought the other day. Some day when I have “made it” in the world of motivational speaking, I will tell the story about how for a long while the only person to comment on my blog was my mom. ;)

  2. Mindy Anne / Apr 26 2013 11:10 PM

    Just beautiful!

    • Amberly / Apr 26 2013 11:12 PM

      Thank You Mindy. This was a hard one to write.

Leave a Reply

