Skip to content
December 13, 2012 / Amberly

Stories VS Realities

Thank You Iyanla Vanzant for introducing me to the term “What is your story?”

I have heard this concept from many amazing thought leaders. Deepak Chopra and Wayne Dyer just to name a few. For some reason though, when Iyanla said it, I got it. This may have been just the right time in my life for it to show up.

When I heard Iyanla’s voice for the first time in my iPod speakers. Oh man did she lay it on thick. She kept asking what is your story, what is that emotionally charged situation you keep telling yourself that makes you feel bad, makes others feel sorry for you.

Now what is the reality?!

The thing I was going through at that moment in life was, I had just moved to Sydney Australia to help a friend with her nutrition and pilates studio. We had talked out the terms (or so I had thought) and when I arrived within two weeks everything had changed. Of course this is not what you want to happen when you have just moved across the world.
My “story” was that I came to Sydney and she partnered with her boyfriend and left me stranded with the words “tough shit, figure it out” This was obviously an extremely emotional time for me and when I heard Iyanla say, “What is the reality of your situation” a lightbulb went on! Let’s change this story to an empowering one!

I made a choice to move to Sydney even though a few “red flags” had gone off in my head. When I left the US I knew that it wasn’t going to be as planned and when I showed up things indeed had changed. She had felt the need to partner with her boyfriend and that is the decision she made. It wasn’t to screw me over or to be a mean person. It was just a logical decision and I just happened to be in the middle.

This experience gave me the opportunity to go deeper into what I really want to do with my life. I was able to find out that we would never open a business together (Which was really important because it was always on my mind). It got my butt to Australia and I was able to see friends who I hadn’t seen in years. It was just another adventure and I grew from it.

It was great to see that not only did I always have a choice, but the choices I made in my life led me to this exact moment. Better not dwell, but just go with it.

When I switched my perspective I acted less from a victim and made choices from an empowered perspective.

Oh self reflection, how I just love you!

What is the story that you are telling yourself? What is your reality?! Share it!

Sydney From The Shangri-La

View of Sydney from the PRESIDENTIAL SUITE at the Shangri-La Hotel

Read It, Live It, Share It.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Spirit in Everyday Life / Dec 18 2012 7:18 AM

    Great post! Almost any situation can be looked at as either negative or positive. “The mind is its own place and can make a hell of heaven and a heaven of hell.” -John Milton

    • Amberly / Dec 18 2012 12:46 PM

      Thank You! I really like that quote you included! Make your life Heaven :)

Leave a Reply

