Skip to content
December 4, 2012 / Amberly

Ghosting

Thanks to my friend Tom I have now been told about the term “Ghosting”

I am using it in the context of you start seeing someone and then instead of giving them the “Hey, this isn’t working out” speech. You just disappear. Not only does this make me laugh uncontrollably (Whilst ice skating, so that can be dangerous) I started to reminisce on the times I may have “Ghosted” someone. This doesn’t just pertain to potential lovers but even friends who just aren’t friends anymore.

To these people I have left hanging in the dust wondering what the heck happened. I am sorry. It’s not you, it’s me.

I find it fascinating that in this day and age you don’t really have to pay your dues. Confrontations that would be originally awkward are now elegantly placed in a text message, where emotions are not thought about but rather just typed out. I wonder what it was like before the text message, screening phone calls aka letting them go to the answering machine would have been the olden day process of ghosting. But what before that?

I feel like we are missing out on a whole set of emotions, that anticipation of a reaction to the satisfaction that we had that courage to do what we needed to do.

This doesn’t even have to be only in the context of letting someone go, it could be that questions we want to ask a loved one or friend. We are missing the raw emotion and emphasis of our voice.

We are missing out on little bits of our life.

What have you chickened out on saying?

Slip and Slide Party Text

Some things don’t need a phone call

Read It, Live It, Share It.

Leave a Reply

