Skip to content
October 4, 2012 / Amberly

Sudoku on The Bus

I really love completing (or not completing) Sudoku puzzles. I believe I inherited this love for puzzles from my mom. She would spend a heck of a lot of time doing crosswords and word searches all afternoon while the day care kids were taking their afternoon nap. One of my favorite activities would be to sit over her shoulder and either secretly or not so secretly find words. I would be so proud finding something that she hadn’t seen yet.
There is something about a sudoku puzzle though. I always draw them out on my own paper and copy them before I try to complete it. I love that ritual of drawing out those 20 lines to a fresh start.
The one thing I have noticed, when you are stuck on a spot, the best thing is to put it down if even for a minute and then come back to it later. That moment of putting it down and coming back to it reveals so much more to the puzzle then you saw before. All of a sudden a 3 and 7 reveal where they should go. What an exhilarating feeling. ( Yes it is the simple things in life)
Probably the reason I like them the most, is because this is a fact of life. When you are so wrapped up into a problem, the solution could be staring you in the face and you won’t be able to see it until you step back.
I find with the more intense the situation the more we forget to stand back and observe from a different angle. Or forget the problem altogether for even just a moment.
This is such an important piece of life and I am so grateful to have people who can make me stop, step back and see those little 3’s and 7’s that I am just too involved to notice.
What situation in your life can you maybe step back and re-evaluate?

20121004-221852.jpg

 

Read It, Live It, Share It.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. ambigram0 / Oct 5 2012 2:47 PM

    Blogging and writing in general. I might get a bit carried away with a thought but when I look back on it later I realise I was miles off topic. So re-evaluating it later helps me keep my focus and hopefully write a better post!

    • Amberly / Oct 5 2012 10:34 PM

      I can understand that completely.
      The great thing about being miles off topic with writing and blogging is that when you catch it, you can sometimes use it in another post!
      Thanks for sharing!

Leave a Reply

