Skip to content
August 5, 2012 / Amberly

Machines or people?!?

Today I spent my afternoon volunteering at the Boulder 70.3 Half Ironman. This consists of triathletes swimming 1.2 miles, biking 56 miles, and running 13.1 miles!
I was at the bike to run transition area which I have been told this is the most awkward transition during the race. After seeing many people fumbling to get their “land legs” back I would agree with this statement.
Standing there, people seem delirious, their legs are not working properly, some fell when their feet hit the pavement. I wasn’t all that surprised, some have been working out for over 3 hours. I think I would also be a little jelly. I have to say others we’re just amazing! They would hop off their bike, no problem, they do this everyday… Dang!
Before I get into what incredible athletes these people are, not only the pros but those who are regular joes getting out and competing. I will say that this was such an amazing experience. Talk about INSPIRING!
I was able to watch pros like Joe Gambles, Jordan Jones, Liz Blatchford and holy mac they are on another level. After the swim and bike, their transition to running is so smooth. Bike shoes are attached to the bike and they run bare foot to place the bike on the rack. Slipping on socks and running shoes they grab their hat, sun glasses and are off. They start their half marathon at a faster pace than I run my one mile around the park.
I am at the moment training for a sprint triathlon on September 15th this was an incredible learning opportunity. I saw so many tricks to make my first triathlon easier, smoother and in the end much more enjoyable.

I would highly recommend anyone who is planning on doing a run or any event soon to volunteer at one. It gets you pumped, excited and inspired!

Read It, Live It, Share It.

20120805-213941.jpg

20120805-214109.jpg

20120805-214437.jpg

Leave a Reply

