Skip to content
June 4, 2012 / Amberly

Do I Smell?!

Homemade Deodorant VS Dove

Make your own deodorant!Homemade Deodorant VS Dove

I have used natural deodorant on and off for the past 3 years. Natural varieties of deodorant do work, but sometimes I found in extreme heat, like in Tucson or Denver they couldn’t always keep me smelling fresh! I know the risks of using conventional deodorants like Aluminum, a metal used to block sweat, it is linked to Alzheimer’s disease and breast cancer. NO THANKS. Not to mention the MANY other ingredients I cannot pronounce, nor find in a dictionary. This has led me to find an alternative for my delicate underarms, make my own!

I wasn’t sure how well it would work, but after testing it out for a few days it passes with FLYING COLOURS!

TESTS:

– Showed up to my personal training with it on, my trainer bet my sister and I a hug to whoever finished our set first. I won and I came in for my hug smelling coconut fresh!

– Went swimming and caught some rays. Coconut fresh (The oil base helped keep it lasting in and out of the pool)

– 4 Day camping trip in Moab Utah… NO SHOWERS. Well I have to say after 4 days I didn’t smell the best, but my b.o. was under control! : )

Homemade deodorant is not only cheap cheap cheap, it is EASY to make.

Ingredients for Natural Deodorant

Ingredients

– 1/3 Cup Organic Coconut Oil (In it’s solid state)

– 1/4 Cup Aluminum Free  Baking soda

– 1/4 Cup Arrowroot Powder

– Essential Oil (Optional)

I just put all the ingredients into a bowl, and mashed it together. Easy As.

Put it into a fancy GLASS jar with a lid and voila! During the warmer months, you may need to refrigerate this. <—Found this out today!

What to do with your old deodorant sticks lying around? Well I use them to prop open my windows : P

Homemade deodorant not Dove in the window sil

To read more about the hazards in using conventional deodorants go to Natural News.com

Read It, Live It, Share It.

4 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. JennyG / Jun 7 2012 3:44 PM

    Is there any way to make it smell other than coconut?? Im not the biggest coconut smell fan! Maybe something berry-like?

    • Amberly / Jun 7 2012 6:19 PM

      That is a great question Jenny. I think what you would want to do is add the essential oils. Online you can find PURE berry essential oils. Make sure it is pure, so that you are not adding in unwanted ingredients :)
      Scents like lavender are also very appealing.

  2. morningmichiru / Jun 5 2012 3:22 PM

    This is so great… I used to use Tom’s, but I had a funny reaction to it once. I’ve been using conventional deodorant, but I always feel bad about it.
    Do you think you can pack the mixture into an empty deodorant stick, or will it fall apart as you roll it out?

    • Amberly / Jun 5 2012 4:29 PM

      I wondered about that! I would think it would hold up (unless it melts, so keep it on the cooler side) Try it and let me know!?

Leave a Reply

